3 players from service academies make Lott Watch List


Army defensive end Josh McNary, Navy safety Wyatt Middleton and Air Force cornerback Anthony Wright have been named to the official Watch List for the 2010 Lott Trophy.

The annual award is named after Hall of Fame defensive back Ronnie Lott, who won four Super Bowls with the San Francisco 49ers and a college national championship while at USC. The Lott Trophy “is given to a player who exhibit’s the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.” Recent winners include LSU’s Glenn Dorsey and Ohio State’s James Laurinaitis.

McNary, Middleton and Wright are probably long shots for the award. They don’t play for BCS football factories and they’re not projected as first-round draft picks. They won’t get much time on national TV this fall. But there is one thing they can do to grab headlines and easily walk away with the Lott Trophy: Sacrifice a digit.


C’mon fellas, you can do it. Just make sure it isn’t your trigger finger.


About Author

Leave A Reply